clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Got a need for speed? Watch these Power Tower match-ups from ANW season 11

We saw some interesting match-ups on the Power Tower this season.

American Ninja Warrior - Season 11 Photo by: Lara Solanki/NBC/BCU Photo Bank

The fans have spoken. In a poll earlier this year, fans overwhelmingly voted in favor of the Power Tower and want to see it return next season. If you’ve forgotten what the Power Tower was about, let’s review:

In each of the six Qualifying rounds, the two fastest finishers raced on the tower for the Speed Pass. It assured them a place at the National Finals, regardless of their performance in the City Finals. In fact, they could have skipped that course all together if they’d wanted.

In the City Finals round, the two fastest finishers, or the two who went the farthest the fastest in the case of no finishers, raced for the Safety Pass. The Safety Pass allows for a do-over in case of a fall (or timing out) on Stage One or Two of the National Finals. (It’s no help on Stage Three.)

We saw some interesting match-ups on the Power Tower this season: The Student vs. The Master with Daniel Gil and Mathis “The Kid” Owhadi. The eventual Champion vs. The Ninja who designed some of the obstacles with Drew Drechsel and Kevin Carbone. In fact, many of the Ninjas who earned the right to compete in the Power Tower in Qualifiers got to go again in City Finals.

So without further ado, get your speed fix with these Power Tower runs from season 11.

Speed Pass

Los Angeles Qualifiers: Hunter Guerard vs David Campbell

Speed Pass Winner: Hunter Guerard

Oklahoma City Qualifiers: Daniel Gil vs Matthew Day

Speed Pass Winner: Daniel Gil

Safety Pass

Atlanta City Finals: Drew Drechsel vs Kevin Carbone

Safety Pass Winner: Drew Drechsel

Oklahoma City Finals: Daniel Gil vs Mathis “The Kid” Owhadi”

Safety Pass Winner: Mathis “The Kid” Owhadi

Baltimore City Finals: Dave Cavanagh vs Lucas Reale

Safety Pass Winner: Dave Cavanagh

Cincinnati City Finals: Ethan Swanson vs Michael Torres

Safety Pass Winner: Michael Torres