clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USA vs The World will air on January 27

This year’s competition features a new country and women on each team!

(l-r) Team USA/Mathis “’Kid’” Owhadi, Barclay Stockett, Drew Drechsel, Jesse Labreck, Najee Richardson
David Becker/NBC

Brand new American Ninja Warrior action is on the way!

It has just been announced that USA vs The World will air on Sunday, January 27, from 9-11pm on NBC.

UPDATE: Please note the air time has changed from 8pm to 9pm.

USA vs The World features teams of Ninjas competing on the four stages of the Las Vegas National Finals. This year’s contest will feature three teams, and one from a country that hasn’t participated before: Australia! It also features the VERY exciting new element that every team will include female athletes!

Last year, Team USA lost to Team Europe, so the stakes are high this time around!

Team USA roster:

  • Drew Drechsel (Team captain)
  • Jesse Labreck
  • Mathis Owhadi
  • Najee Richardson
  • Barclay Stockett

Team Europe roster:

  • Georgia Munroe (England)
  • Katie McDonnell (England)
  • Javier Cano (Spain)
  • Iris Matamoros (Spain)
  • Oliver Edelmann (Germany)
(l-r) Team Europe/Javier Cano, Katie McDonnell, Oliver Edelmann, Georgia Munroe, Iris Matamoros
David Becker/NBC

Team Australia roster:

  • Ashlin Herbert
  • Bryson Klein
  • Ben Polson
  • Olivia Vivian
  • Jack Wilson
(l-r) Team Australia/Ashlin Herbert, Jack Wilson, Olivia Vivian, Bryson Klein, Ben Polson
David Becker/NBC

You can read the full press release below.

NBC will air its annual high-stakes international ninja competition special “USA Vs. the World” on Sunday, Jan. 27 (9-11 p.m. ET/PT).

Top U.S. competitors from last season’s “American Ninja Warrior” will go head to head with ninjas and skilled athletes from around the globe in the two-hour special, which features three teams: Team USA, Team Europe and, for the first time, Team Australia.

Team USA returns this year for redemption after having lost to Team Europe in the final moments of last year’s special.

Team USA features Drew Drechsel along with Jesse “Flex” Labreck, Mathis “Kid” Owhadi, Najee Richardson and Barclay Stockett.

Drechsel, who serves as team captain, was the last ninja standing in this past season of “American Ninja Warrior.” He is joined by another impressive ninja veteran, Najee Richardson, as well as one of last season’s breakout stars, 19-year-old Mathis “Kid” Owhadi.

Team USA also features two fierce female ninja competitors this year, Jessie “Flex” Labreck and Barclay Stockett.

Defending champion Team Europe features an entirely new team of competitors, including two women, professional free-runner Georgia Munroe and stuntwoman Katie McDonnell (both from England), along with top rock climbers Javier Cano and Iris Matamoros (both from Spain). The team also includes the first German athlete – world class gymnast Oliver Edelmann.

Team Australia makes their debut this year with Ashlin Herbert, Bryson Klein, Ben Polson, Olivia Vivian and Jack Wilson.

The teams will compete head to head across all four stages of the show’s epic national finals course (23 obstacles in all).

“USA Vs. the World” is executive produced by A. Smith & Co. Productions’ founders Arthur Smith and Kent Weed, along with Brian Richardson and Anthony Storm.